Tags

,

This book review is about two books: Hot-Blooded and Cold-Blooded.

Both of these books are written by the same author, Lisa Jackson, who is a New York Time’s best seller. These two books are the first in a series called The New Orleans series named because all of the books are set in New Orleans. Out of the 8 books I have only read 4, so I have some catching up to do. But’s let’s get started on the review.

Hot-Blooded is the first book in this detective series starring detective Rick Bentz and Reuben Montoya. In this book, radio psychologist Samantha Leeds is getting weird and disturbing phone calls from someone named Father John. Oddly enough, someone is murdering prostitutes around the city, while tuning it to Dr. Sam’s radio show. Coincidence?  It’s up to the detectives to find out. In Cold-Blooded, Olivia Benchet is having reoccurring visions about a killer who is sacrificing women. But when she goes to the police to plead her case, nobody believes her. Not even Bentz. However, sometime later, a woman shows up dead in an abandon building killed in the exact way Olivia has described! The police must find the killer before the murders escalates.

I like these two books because they’re murder mysteries and I like to guess who has committed the crime. The author introduces a whole range of characters to throw you off guard just to make things more interesting. However, in the end, the killer ends up being a little cliché in both books. Not to mention, as the series goes on (as I said before I haven’t completed it yet), you find that most of the characters are related to one another. Like, literally related. And to me that just makes things a little weird and awkward. But that’s my opinion.

This book has drama, romance, thrills and of course sex. I give both books a 3.5 out of 5.

I hope this review was helpful. Feel free to comment.

Until next time!

 

