So, I want to take a break from book reviews and do post about book to movie adaptations.

Everybody knows about the obvious ones such as Twilight, Hunger Games, Divergent, Maze Runner, Mortal Instruments, etc. As many would agree the books are better than the movies but I don’t have a problem with the way some of the movies turned out…except for one. In this scenario, I liked the book, however, the movie was a hot mess! And whoever produced/directed the movie needs to be shot! I’m talking about the book Vampire Academy.

There is nothing worse than watching someone turn one of your favorite books into a horrible, pitiful and utterly cringe-worthy film! Let’s do a list of all the things wrong with this movie adaptation.

  1. First of all, I am one of those people who are really picky about the physical aspects of a book character. If the character in the book has blond hair, blue eyes and freckles, then that same character in the movie should not have red hair, green eyes and dimples (but that’s just me). In the Vampire Academy film, the characters did not match the characters in the book except for two people. For example, the leading male character, Dmitri, was tall, slim, had long hair and had an accent. In the movie, granted he was tall and granted he had long hair (which was a wig by the way), but he had wide shoulders and was built like a tree! And his facial features weren’t slim and sharp but sort of…pudgy. And that Russian accent wasn’t fooling anybody. No offense to the actor. You are an attractive person but you just weren’t right for the part.
  2. The acting sucked. Majority of the cast were people I never even heard of and that’s perfectly fine. However, their acting was just…no. There was no feeling whatsoever and they seemed as though they didn’t even care. Bad acting is bad in any movie but to see it in a movie made from a book you absolutely adore is just sad.
  3. The special effects. *sigh*. There is a lot of fighting in Vampire Academy. However, you can blatantly tell that the special affects people must’ve taken a day off or something because the effects in the movie were horrible. The punching was weak and the kicks were off.
  4. And don’t even get me started on the romance! I am a huge fan of romance and love and all that but the relationship between the two main characters turned me off. In the book, Rose and Dmitri have a forbidden love filled with all sorts of tension. But…the actors didn’t bring forth that same feeling.

Basically, when I saw the trailer for this movie I had a feeling it was going to be a huge flop (and it was) but I never expected it to be that bad! When I first watched it on DVD I turned it off after 10 minutes. But I said to myself “no you gotta watch it until the end.” Which I did. I wish I could take back that hour and 15 minutes of my life.

I don’t want to discourage anybody from reading the book. It’s a great book it’s just that the movie kind of gives it a bad name. I hope this book-movie adaptions was entertaining as well as helpful.

Until next time!

