Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s pretty safe to say that  books are pretty much better than their movie counterparts. 80% of the time, the movie does a fairly accurate job of portraying the book. However, there is one instance where I believe the show Hemlock Grove was better than the book.

Hemlock Grove is actually a show on Netflix and it only has 3 seasons. I have seen only the first. It’s about this werewolf named Peter who moves to the town of Hemlock Grove in Pennsylvania and meets Roman who himself has supernatural powers (you don’t find out who he is until the last episode). A monster is on the loose and the two teens have to find out what (or who) it is.

I think the reason I liked the show better was because I couldn’t really understand the book itself. There were a whole bunch of vocabulary and metaphors that I couldn’t really grasp. I’m not saying that the author is a bad writer but the content probably made a little more sense to older people. There was a book I read a year or so ago called We Need to talk about Kevin (made into a movie starring Tilda Swinton and John C. Reilly) and the context was similar as well but I could read between the lines and I got use to the patterns of the language. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to do that with Hemlock Grove.

Another reason, which is probably the better reason, is that the show was so….raw. It had a lot of sex (mostly sex), drugs, blood, gore and whatnot. The book doesn’t really have all that. I mean it does have sex and gore and blood but it’s not all that detailed. It’s not in abundance in the book. I think if the book was turned into a movie it would absolutely still be better than the book. I also think that because the book was in fact turned into a show, the producer or director had to drag it out for about 20 episodes causing them to add more intense and visual content. Eli Roth is actually the producer of the show and he starred in a lot of Tarantino movies which is notorious for violence. Hmmmm…..makes you think. Anyway…..

I never want to discourage anyone from not reading a book and forming their own opinions. This is just my thoughts on the book vs. the film. If you want to read the book, go right ahead. However, if you want to watch the show I suggest you proceed with caution. It’s not for the faint of heart. You have been warned.

Until next time!

