Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok, technically today is not this author’s birthday. John Grisham was actually born Feb. 8, 1955. So tomorrow is the day of his birth. John Grisham is one of my favorite authors and I thought I would dedicate his birth month to doing reviews on his work. I will also be doing this for other authors such as James Patterson, Lisa Jackson and Agatha Christie.

The book I want to review is The Confession. It was actually the first book I ever read by him and I just loved it! A black football player named Donté is accused of raping and killing white cheerleader Nicole back in the 90s. About 10 years later he is sentenced to be executed. A few states over the real criminal, Travis, confesses to the crime to a priest which then sets them on a mission to go to Texas and clear Donté’s name.

This book had me going through things. Mainly because it’s set in Texas which is predominately white and racist especially during the 90s. I’m not saying that all of Texas’ residents are racist but majority of them in this book are. They accused this black boy of being a criminal simply because of his skin color. Also the authorities wasn’t all that willing to believe Travis’ story because that would be admitting that they made a mistake. So they cover it up. And that is enough to piss anybody off! This story hits close to what’s going on in the world today, and for the past decade as a matter-of-fact, about how people are judged by the color of their skin, whether they are black, white, Asian, Indian, etc. John Grisham does a good job of portraying the emotional turmoil that Donté’s parents, and the black community, has gone through (to be honest I almost cried). He also gives a lot of background information about the characters without boring the hell out of you which I like. Now, Travis as I said is the real killer and he pissed me off because he waited until the last minute to say something. And that is what gave the whole story this fact paced, adrenaline-filled, edge-of-your-seat type feeling. You never knew what was going to happen next or how things were going to turn out. Unfortunately, it was not turned into a movie like Grisham’s other books (The Firm, A Time to Kill, The Pelican Brief) but I certainly has the makings of a good movie. I give this book a 5 out of 5.

I hope I didn’t spoil the book for anybody. Not because of how it made me feel but because I refer to some scenes in the book. Overall, the book is fabulously .  entertaining. If anybody reads John Grisham and want me to do a book review or just comment on it let me know.

Until next time!

