Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was looking through my Facebook feed today and one of my followers shared a link to an article that was written last year about how Nigeria has banned female genital mutilation. That actually reminded me of the first time I ever heard of FGM (or female castration as I first heard it). I was in middle school when I read No Laughter Here by Rita Williams-Garcia. Its about a young girl whose best friend comes home from Nigeria and has a change in personality. She doesn’t laugh, smile and she barely talks. Later on the main character finds out that her best friend has been through the process of genital mutilation to became “pure.” When I first read this book I couldn’t believe it. I’ve known about boys being castrated but girls?! To me it didn’t seem possible let alone real. But it was. And it still is. This just goes to show you that women in all aspects and all environments are seen as objects that have to be pure. And that they can’t have sex for pleasure. I’m not trying to condemn any country for its ttime.

tions and ways of life. I never grew up around stuff like that and it’s just hard to accept that there are people in the world who actually participate in this. However, it is nice to see that some countries are letting go of some of those old school traditions and bringing forth a new set of ways, including America. We are not perfect but the laws are being rewritten and change is coming. The world is still far off from being perfect. But, hey! One step at a time.

Until next time!

