Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I was reading a post from fellow blogger @TheTattoedBookGeek (if you have a chance check him out) and one of his book reviews mentioned a Trapper. Which got me thinking about a book I read in ninth grade called The Demon Trapper’s Daughter. And I thought “I might as well do a review on it.”

The year is 2018, the economy is shot to hell and demons roam the city of Atlanta, Georgia. Teenager Riley, is determined to be a demon trapper just like her dad despite the fact that she’s a girl in an all male profession. When tragedy strikes Riley’s life is changed forever and she must rely on her dad’s annoying yet handsome ex-partner Beck to help her.

I liked this book because it was different. I wasn’t really into, I guess you could say “end-of-the-world, apocalyptic” stuff but I enjoyed it. I like plots that are set in not only the distant future, like say 2155, but also in the near future like this book. Of course, I love a strong badass female character and this book provides just that. It also has action and romance (surprise surprise). Not to mention a betrayal you do not see coming (and quite honestly made me a little mad). And hellspawn, crazed demons. Awesome! This is the first of a four book series, excuse me, saga.

I give it a 5 out of 5.

