Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just realized that I haven’t done a review for the Divergent series. At least I don’t remember doing one. That sounds bad, right? Anyway, I’m going to do a review on Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant.

***Spoilers**** although at this time you guys probably already know the whole story.

As some of you know Divergent is set in a world where everybody is divided into groups, also known as Factions, based on certain traits: abnagation (selflessness), dauntless (fearless), erudite (intelligence), candor (honesty) and amity (peace). However, there are special individuals who roam amoungst the population who exhibit all 5 traits known as the Divergent who are considered dangerous and a threat to society. Tris Prior is Divergent and after switching from Abnagation to Dauntless Tris’ life and whole world is in danger.

From the moment I started reading this book I was hooked. The story was evenly paced and gave a nice background as to how this new world came about. I loved the character of Tris Prior; she was relatable, curious and determined. I also liked Christina’s character who was a badass right from the start and loyal to a fault. I give the book a 4 out of 5. As to the movie, I was very pleased as how it matched up to the book. At first I wasn’t into the idea of Theo James playing Tobias but he proved to be good. I don’t think Jai Courtney should’ve been casted as Eric. In my head, Eric was very….punk. And Courtney didn’t exactly pull it off. I have mixed feelings about Shailene Woodley playing Tris; sometimes I’m feeling it, sometimes I’m not. I give the movie a 4 out of 5 as well.

In Insurgent, Tris, Four and the rest of the crew are one the run from Jeannine, leader of the Erudite who is dead set on capturing the Divergent and using their uniqueness to unlock a box that holds the secrets to their world. This book is mostly full of betrayals I liked this book but not as much as the first one. Tris and Four’s relationship continues to grow and even though I’m a sucker for love their romance sometimes gets in the way of the plot, as with a lot of YA books. Because of some emotional trauma Tris starts to unravel a bit which I thought was a nice touch. I give the book a 3 out of 5. The movie however…..hmmm. Not sure what to say. Some parts were in the book, some parts weren’t. I do like Shailene Woodley’s with short hair. Not because her character cuts her hair in the book but I just think it fits her better. As I said before, there is some betrayal in this story which includes Tris’s older brother Caleb. I personally like him and Woodley better as a couple (The Fault in our Stars) than as brother and sister. I thought the casting of Octavia Spencer was a little weird but I got use to it. 3 out of 5.

Allegiant……..sucked! There I said it. The main characters venture outside of their realm and enteract with other characters that explain to the whole history of how thier world came about. This book was all over the place. The narration went back and forth between Tris and Four and I think that was one of the problems. I don’t mind the book going back and foth between two characters as long as their points of views are interesting and keeps me hooked. Allegiant didn’t do that. Tris and Four’s love goes through a rocky period and frankly the constant attention that was given to that was getting on my nerves. I will say what happens at the end of the book you don’t see coming! At first I was kind of upset but as I reflected on the whole situation, I thought “that was nice touch. Kudos.” Overall, i give it a 2 out of 5. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I heard it sucked which is not surprising. And just like with the Hunger Games they split the last and most boring book into two parts.

