Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago I came across this scholarship where you had a do a review of your favorite movie. Sound easy, right? Well, my favorite movie is Lawless with Shia LeBoeuf and Tom Hardy which is based on a true story and a real book. So, in order to get a better feel of the movie, and to create a better review, I decided to read the book.

So, the story follows three brothers, Howard, Forrest and Jack Bondurant as they distribute bootleg liquor throughout Franklin County, Virginia in 1930. They find their business under fire when Special Deputy Charley Rakes steps in to try and bring them down.

I actually want to start with a movie review.

The movie was great! It didn’t have a lot of action in it but the acting was on point and the characters really played well with each other. Shia LaBoeuf, Tom Hardy and Jason Clarke played the three brothers and the chemistry between them was outstanding, however, I believe LeBoeuf and Hardy were tied for best performance. Other characters include Guy Pearce, Gary Oldman, Jessica Chastain and Mia Wasikowska. The best part in my opinion is at the end. The movie got mixed reviews, some enjoying it while others claimed it was another macho gangster film where the American way is to have no respect for the law. The descendants of the Bondurant family had mixed reviews as well but ultimately they thought the movie was decent.

The book is entitled “The Wettest County in the World” and 90% of the book was not in the movie. Now normally I would have a problem with that but to be honest the book was fairly boring. The boys’ father and younger sister were not mentioned in the film along with a couple of close friends and other members of the law. Not to mention the sequence of events in the book didn’t flow the same way as the sequence of events in the movie. The film was glamed up considerately and it was needed. I will say that I enjoyed reading about a bootlegging story other than the infamous Al Capone adventure. I give the book a 2 out a five and the movie a 4 out of 5.

And to make you guys green with envy (as well as myself) here are pictures of bedrooms with beautiful bookshelves ❤ ❤ <3. I need to start saving up.

Until next time!

