Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are at least 20 books on my TBR list and instead of randomly picking books off the list to read, I’ve decided just to go in order. Makes sense, right? So the third book on my list is The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Mare Barrow is a Red blood; a lowly creature who is considered inferior to the Silver bloods, who have superhuman abilities. But Mare discovers she possesses some abilities of her own. In an attempt to keep things under wraps, the Silver king and queen claim Mare is the long lost daughter of a Silver born general and pasts her off as a princess. But Mare gets more than she bargained for and finds herself trapped in lies, secrets and mostly betrayals.

This book has been on my list for months now and I thoroughly enjoyed it as I do with a lot of books. The plot of it was a little cliché, including a certain “love triangle” that takes place. As I was reading, it felt like I was reading a book I’ve already read. However, the story was evenly paced, which I’m a stickler for. What I didn’t see coming was a betrayal of a certain character. Not much else I can say about the book, to be honest. It had a nice cover, which made me attracted to it in the first place and it did indeed match the story. I give the book a 3.5 out of 5. The second book is already put and the third is coming out early next year.

