Tags

, , , , ,

So, I’ve been out of school for a few weeks now and I have yet to read a book! I know, I know. Shame on me! To be honest, I have the entire summer to read. Right now, I’m just enjoying watching TV for hours on end.

So in the last post I mentioned that I was going to be displaying a couple of pieces that I wrote in my creative writing class this semester. One of them being this Villanelle poem. It’s kind of hard to explain but a villanelle poem is a poem where the last word of the lines of the stanzas rhyme with other words in the other lines (or something like that). Click here for a better explanation. Typically, the poem has 19 lines but it can be longer. So without further ado, here is my villanelle poem: Buddy the Cockatoo. Enjoy! Until next time!

In a cage that was speckled with blue

and golden marble like paint

live Buddy, a small cockatoo.

 

He liked playing with worn out shoe

strings. A cute fellow, quite quaint

in a cage speckled with blue.

 

This weird hobby was somewhat new.

Takes the patience of a saint

to raise Buddy, the cockatoo.

 

Sometimes, loudly, he would chew

his food. His feathers, you can bank

on, swirled, whenever the wind blew.

 

He’d fly around in circles. “Shoo,”

you’d say. “Move along. Don’t taint

my work, Buddy the cockatoo.”

Alas! what else can you do?

Nestled warmly, at any rate,

in a cage that was speckled with blue

lived Buddy, a small cockatoo.

