So, I’ve gotten back on the reading bandwagon. Granted, I’m still binge watching multiple TV shows but, hey, it’s summer! A few days ago, I finished Fahrenheit 451. I saw it in the library and with it being a classic I had to pick it up.

Fahrenheit 451 is set in a furturistic world where firemen burn books. The main character Guy Montag is a firemen who sticks to the stays quo when he meets Clarissa who challenges his view of life as he knows it.

This was a quick read considering it was a little over a hundred pages. It was also a little challenging to read because it had a few metaphors in it that I didn’t understand until close to the end of the story. However, the author Ray Bradbury did write the book in the 1950s so he had a different point of view. The cool part about it was that you can apply the story to modern day life; the fact that society is so engaged with technology that nobody really reads anymore.

I have to admit I was expecting something a little more exciting with this read. And I also thought Clarissa’s character should’ve had a longer part in the book.

Overall, I give it 2.5-3 out of 5.

