Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I just finished reading Cinder and I have to say…I absolutely loved it!!!

Cinder is a cyborg. One of the many that exist among humans. She lives with her stepmother and stepsisters after the Blue Plague took the life of her guardian. She works as mechanic where she one day hopes to be rid of her home forever. However, Cinder is more valuable than she realizes which puts her in the middle of an intergalactic fued as well as on a path of self-discovery.

This book is the first installment to the Lunar series. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this series and I was not disappointed. Each book is a twist on the classic fairy tale of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Repunzel, etc. I love Melissa Marr and her remaking of Cinderalla was very original. I also like how it is set in a different country instead of America. I also love how Cinder is not your typical Cinderella where she cleans, cooks and does housework. No, she has to work as a mechanic to earn her keep and I think that is so badass for a female character and it was a nice change. Unlike, the original Cinderella, she is not passive and speaks up for herself which was very refreshing. In addition, the book wasn’t too long and it was evenly paced with no uncessary scenes which was also refreshing. I was so engaged with this read that I finished it in two days! As I was reading, the beginning reminded me of a book I read called the Red Queen but only a small portion. It also reminding of the books by Alex Flinn which I also love.

Overall, I give it a 5/5!

I look forward to reading the next installment, Scarlet.

