Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This has been a great week for me…..pleasure reading wise, that is. This is the second book I have finished in less than a week and I am proud of it. Maybe it’s because I was able to put down my phone, turn off the TV and immerse myself in the world of fantasy. Yep. That’s sounds about right. This book review is on the book Four, the fourth (ironic isn’t it?) installment to Veronica Roth’s Divergent series.

The plot is pretty simple: it takes us through Four’s life on how he became a Dauntless initiate in the first place and how he met Tris Prior. It made sense to give Four his own book considering his back story, his life of abuse with his father. In a way, I think that was an advantage for Four as weird as that sounds. In the book, he wasn’t afraid of pain because he endured so much of it from his father. So that actually prepared him for Dauntless’ initiation. The book is separated into four parts: The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son and The Traitor. Once it got to The Traitor, it became familiar because it overlap with Tris’s story of Divergent. I will say that there are three little snippets in the back of book where Four has three encounters with Tris. I honestly think Veronica Roth could’ve squeezed those snippets into Four’s story instead of making them three separate incidences. It was a quirk read and although there was nothing particularly exciting about the book I still enjoyed it.

Overall, I give it a 4/5.

