Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So after many months of this book occupying the top of my TBR list I have finally read The Prey by Tom Isbell! The reason I took so long to read it is because it wasn’t available at the library. Like, at all. So I had to buckle down and actually buy the book from Amazon. And with Amazon Prime it cost me less that $5!

After the Omega (an event that destroyed the Earth due to radiation) a group of kids find themselves escaping from their camps in order to seek a better life in the New Territory after they find out that their kind, Less Thans, are being hunted for sport.

According to some descriptions this book is The Hunger Games meets The Maze Runner and I couldn’t agree more. The Less Thans travel across dangerous territory like in the Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2) while also trying to advoid the Hunters who would like nothing more than to kill them off like in the Hunger Games. To be honest this book didn’t exactly give enough buildup, enough background in the beginning. Everything was pretty straightforward. A little too straightforward. I felt like the beginning of the book was a little rushed. But once the Less Thans escaped from their camps towards the middle of the book I got into it. However, this book was not what I expected it to be. It gave me this…..adolescent vibe of a book you would read in middle school. What I did like however, is that the main characters are people of color! As well as some of the other characters in the book. Another thing that confused me was Book’s lack of knowledge. They call him Book because he likes to read. Anything he can get his hands on. However, when it came to solving certain problems someone else came up with survival ideas. I mean surely, Book has read a book on survival, or life in the mountains or something of that nature. But that’s a minor issue. I will however, continue to read the rest of the series.

Overall, I give it a 3/5.

Until next time!

P.S. I understand Wattpad is a great way to post your creative writing online. Other than that, and WordPress of course, what other websites are great for uploading stories?

