Tags

, ,

Hello everyone! Welcome to the Book Nook. Today we are going to be talking about some of my unpopular book opinions. Now, you don’t have to agree with any of what I am saying because it is my opinion not fact. Before we get started, I encourage you all to comment down below and tell me your thoughts. Also, make sure you are following the Book Nook on WordPress, Instagram and YouTube; that way you don’t miss any of my reviews in the future. So, without further ado, lets get into it

1) We need to get rid of epilogues.

An epilogue is where the plot of the book is wrapped up and the reader is able to get closure. For whatever reason, the epilogues that I have been reading lately haven’t been hitting. I did not like the epilogue in The Eternal Ones. I also did not like the epilogue in The Mystery Guest. The most recent book I’ve read, The Hunting Party, had an epilogue…section? There are 60 chapters in the book and the last two were considered a part of the epilogue. At that point, the author might as well have not included the title of “epilogue.”

2) We need more trigger warnings.

The first book I have ever seen have a trigger warning was Seasons of the Storm. This was much appreciated because the story dealt with self-harm. Author, Rosanne A. Brown, has trigger warnings in her duology as well because the two main characters suffer from mental health issues. The only gray area is how would we determine which books constitute a trigger warning? I feel as though certain situations won’t have an affect on some people as they will for others. Skin of the Sea had parts of slavery in it which did trigger me a little bit. However, Technically Yours included a warning about gaslighting and pregnancy but I personally wasn’t triggered by it. So, again, I will always appreciate a trigger/content warning but the question is how do we determine who gets a warning and who doesn’t?

3) Discussion questions are weird.

To be clear, I am not talking about author interviews. I am referring to a number of discussion questions that one will find at the end of the read. When I read, I do it because I want to escape; not because I want to necessarily talk about what I read. That may seem like a bit of a contradiction considering I have a blog dedicated to talking about what I read. However, I’m not paying attention to the questions when organizing my thoughts. The discussion questions feels too much like being in school. I will say, if a particular book is being taught in school then I can see how these questions would prove useful. However, I don’t necessarily see a point in these prompts especially in adult books.

Let me know in the comments if you agree or disagree with any of my opinions. Also, what are some of your unpopular book opinions?

Until next time!