Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone! Welcome to the Book Nook. Today we are going to be doing a review on Last Call at the Nightingale by Katherine Schellman. I have been wanting to read this book for a long time; I’ve seen it so many times on Goodreads and I was intrigued. Upon reading it, however, it did not go the way I thought it would. Before we get started, I encourage you all to comment down below and tell me your thoughts. Also, make sure you are following the Book Nook on WordPress, Instagram and YouTube; that way you don’t miss any of my reviews in the future. So, without further ado, lets get into it.

Set in 1920s New York, a young woman named Vivian loves to frequent The Nightingale; a speakeasy full of drinking, dancing and danger. Vivian can’t get enough of it. However, after Vivian discovers a dead body in the alley behind the place she wants nothing more than to forget the whole thing. But when The Nightingale is raided Vivian somehow gets swept up into solving the man’s murder. Vivian quickly learns just how dangerous New York’s underworld can be.

The pacing is good and the story starts off quickly, however, there was nothing spectacular about this read. The story does have some queer representation to it which was different. However, I was not entirely convinced of the potential of the relationship between Vivian and the other character. I will admit the other character is likeable and strong but also manipulative. There were times were Vivian often wondered what could have become of the relationship if they were allowed to be together and…I just wasn’t convinced.

The story also reminded me of Wild Women and the Blues by Denny S. Bryce. Both stories center around a woman living in the 1920s who frequent jazz clubs who somehow get involved in a murder scandal. The two biggest differences were the location of each story and the race of each character. At some point I did feel as though I was reading the same book. I will say the mystery of Last Call at the Nightingale was easier to follow than the one in Wild Women and the Blues.

I don’t have too much to say about this book because, again, there was nothing amazing about it. My expectations weren’t too high but I still feel as though there could’ve been more done to the story.

Overall, I give it a 3/5.

Until next time!