Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello everyone! Welcome to the Book Nook. Today we are going to be doing a review on The Fastest Way to Fall by Denise Williams. I’ve heard about this book from a fellow YouTuber. This was one of her favorite books of 2022 and even though I’m not a huge fan of contemporary romance I trust her judgement and decided to give this book a try. Honestly…it was pretty good. Before we get started, I encourage you all to comment down below and tell me your thoughts. Also, make sure you are following the Book Nook on WordPress, Instagram and YouTube; that way you don’t miss any of my reviews in the future. So, without further ado, lets get into it.

Britta is plus-size journalist who decides to write an article about a fitness app called FitMi. Her goal is not to lose weight but to challenge herself and push herself beyond her limits and that’s what FitMi provides. Wes is the owner of the app but is unhappy. As a way to boost his spirits he decides to take on a few clients as a coach; one of them being Britta. After a chance encounter the two become closer and closer and soon the line of professional boundaries are blurred. Although their relationship can cause problems they can’t help falling for each other.

I did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. The story starts off immediately, the characters are likable and it’s an easy read. I will say, I was not expecting the story to unfold the way it did. What I mean is the FitMi coaches don’t actually meet their clients in person; hence the app, I guess. So, the first few chapters are Wes and Britta conversing online which I did not expect. As I said before, they meet under extenuating circumstances then their relationship blossoms. It’s interesting because Britta and Wes are suppose to be an interracial couple but other than looking at the cover you wouldn’t really know that was the case which is guess is the point? There are small details that give us clues but once you meet Britta’s family it become more clear. Speaking of which, I like how Britta’s family was extremely close and well off as opposed to Wes’ upbringing. I say that because a lot of times the black characters in stories are always struggling and in poverty and this wasn’t the case for Britta. It was Wes who grew up in poverty and had a traumatic childhood. So, I liked the reversal.

I only have good things to say about this book and I did give it a high rating. This was a slow burn relationship but the “will they, won’t they?” went on for a while which kind of made the book lag. But as a whole I am glad I read this book and I may have to give Denise Williams’ books a try as well.

Overall, I give it 1 4.5/5

Until next time!