Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So, Monday was the second day in a row I finished a book in one day. I finished Confessions by James Patterson on Sunday and Dumplin’ on Monday. *sigh*. That takes me back to the good ol’ days when I had much time on my hands and I wasn’t addicted to my phone or TV.

Dumplin’: Go Big or Go Home follows the story of Willowdean Dickson. She is a fat girl and doesn’t give a damn about it. But her confidence starts to wane when she has starts having trouble with her hot coworker, Bo. So what does she do? She enters the local beauty pageant, an event in which her mother is the Chairman and former pageant winner. Willowdean is out to prove that big girls are beauty queens too.

I love this book for obvious reasons. Everybody comes in all shapes and sizes and there’s beauty in all of us. And thanks to Willow, other outcasts find confidence in themselves and they all bond together. The plot of the book does take a little while to start up, however. Plus, I thought the book was a little too long but then again the chapters are about 5, maybe 7 pages long. The comedy in this book will have you chuckling or even full out laughing in pretty much every other chapter. This book also reminds me of a book i read in middle school called Artichoke’s Heart. This book is also about a bigger high school teen except she doesn’t have the confidence like Willowdean does. But I couldn’t help noticing the similarities between the two. So go check that out when you get a chance.

I give the book a 5 out of 5.

I came upon this reading challenge for 2016 and I thought it was very interesting.